The Farm School Satellite Campuses – Umbrella for Homeschoolers
What is an Umbrella School?
- When homeschooling in TN, you essentially have three choices: 1) register directly with your county or school board 2) register with an umbrella school (Church Related School) 3) register with an online accredited school. Here is a link to the TN. gov website regarding your options.
When will the 2019/2020 school year registration open?
- March 1, 2019 Here is the link it will be at when it is open.
Is The Farm School an Umbrella School?
- Yes, in the state of TN. Below are the legal documents regarding us being recognized by the state as a CRS – Umbrella School.The Farm School is recognized by the Tennessee Department of Education as a Category IV Exempted School (a.k.a. Church-related school) – download the approval document. Our program operates under what is commonly referred to as the Jeter Memo (see the section under “Additional Educational Option”). When you enroll in The Farm School Satellite Campuses Program your home will be designated as a satellite (classroom or extension) of The Farm School. At least one parent/guardian will be appointed as a faculty member of The Farm School under the supervision of our administration. Your children will technically not be homeschoolers (as defined by Tennessee law) – they will be students of The Farm School, a non-public church-related school.
Why enroll with The Farm School Satellite Campuses?
- Supporting our Satellite Campuses Program by enrolling with us and/or becoming a Friend of The Farm School supports learners who “are not on target for graduation”, families that need a refuge for a short period of time, and learners with prior truancy, suspension, expulsion, and misdemeanor issues, AND MOST IMPORTANTLY pregnant learners & learners who are also parents. Pregnant students & students who are also parents are welcome to enroll in our program. We understand that sometimes families may need a refuge for a few months so we don’t impose qualifiers such as “for families intending to homeschool through graduation.”
Do you know what your school options are in TN?
- Click here for the link to TN.gov
Do you require yearly or state testing?
- No we do not. Taking the ACT to graduate is also not a requirement.
What do I need a Teacher or Student ID for?
- As a Teacher you can get discounts at all kinds of retailers or extra services like at some Libraries. Click here for a list we have put together. Let us know if there are some we are missing.
Do I log attendance for the entire year?
- Depends on when you enrolled with us. If you transferred in after attending any days at another school then the answer is no. We (The Farm School) can only confirm days of attendance UNDER our program. So your logged days should not begin before your student’s official enrollment date (that means the date BOTH fees and enrollments forms are submitted to us).
How many hours are required for instruction per day?
- Four hours of Instruction* is the state’s minimum to qualify as a day in attendance. (Sorry, but the state does not recognize 8 hours a day as equal to two days of attendance)
* Instruction has not been defined by the state – therefore as the parent you decided what “counts” from unschooling to tradition teacher lecture with seat work.
How many days are required to attendance each year?
- 180 days are the minimum requirement by law. If you are having trouble getting them in, you may log Saturdays & Sundays as well as holidays. School year runs from July 1 to June 30.
- Please note: As a Tennessee non-public school enrollment in our program meets the compulsory attendance laws for the state of Tennessee. We do not assert that enrollment in our program meets the compulsory attendance and/or homeschool requirements in other states. It is the parent / guardian’s responsibility to meet the requirements of the state in which the student resides if they do not reside in Tennessee.
When do I submit grades online?
- We suggest entering attendance and grades for the first semester by December 30 and the second semester by June 30. All grades and attendance are due by June 30.
How do I submit attendance and grades in the Parent Dashboard?
- Here is the link to our how to page for reporting grades and here is a link to the how to page for reporting attendance.
Do homeschoolers use excused absences, etc.?
- Reporting online offers additional data –. “E” for excused absence, an “N” for non-attended days, an “H” for holidays, an “S” for sick days and a “V” for vacation days.
For our records, I would recommend logging Sick days only IF illness prohibits your child from accruing 180 days of attendance within your planned/ scheduled school year or by June 30.
You may utilize E, H, S, V on the Parent Dashboard if doing so assists you in chronicling your records, however, we only need to know days of attendance.
If you do year round schooling, how do I get all the days to count?
- You will need to submit all forms and fees by July 1, which is the first day of the school year. This will enable you to count any July school session you may have.
Since we are moving to reporting only in the Parent Dashboard starting the 2018/2019 school year, what happens to our accounts in HSRO?
- You and us will be able to continue to access old accounts in HSRO. We will enter high school files only for upcoming, registered Seniors until there is no info to move over.
How do I upload my student’s vaccination record into the Parent Dashboard?
- Click on My Students, then click the name of the student, then you will see the upload button.